Editorial Policies

Focus and Scope

Audio/Visual: Journal of Cultural Media Studies is an open-access, international, peer-reviewed journal that aims to contribute to critical reflection and development of theoretical models and methods for the study of media and mediatisation from a cultural-analytical perspective within the humanities. It thus seeks to bring together a plurality of theories, methodologies and historical approaches, while emphasizing the importance of applying diachronic, historical, perspectives also when studying contemporary phenomena. The journal primarily addresses disciplines such as media and communication studies, aesthetics, cinema studies, musicology, comparative literature, ethnology, cultural history, cultural studies, fashion studies and sociology; and welcomes contributions covering a range of subject areas, integrating national and international perspectives when dealing with issues of medial expressions, artefacts and practices.


Section Policies


Checked Open Submissions Checked Indexed Checked Peer Reviewed

Peer Review Process

Articles published in Audio/Visual are submitted to a double-blind peer review procedure. The editors of each issue moderate and supervise the review process, and authors are able to follow each step of it.


Publication Frequency

Individual items will be published as soon as they are ready and added to the current volume's Table of Contents. Please use the Notifications function to receive information about new content.


Open Access Policy

This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge.


For the editors

Article upload


International Advisory Board

Jennifer Craik, School of Design Office, Fashion, Queensland University of Technology

Anne Danielsen, Department of Musicology, University of Oslo

Kirsten Drotner, Department for the Study of Culture, University of Southern Denmark

Anders Ekström, Department of History of Science and Ideas, Uppsala University

Bo Eriksson, Department of History, Stockholm University

Johan Fornäs, School of Culture and Education, Södertörn University

Camilla Hjelm, Department of Culture and Aesthetics, Stockholm University

Anne Jerslev, Department of Media, Cognition & Communication, University of Copenhagen

Olivier Julien, Department of Music and Musicology, Paris-Sorbonne University

Amanda D. Lotz, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts, University of Michigan

Patrik Lundell, Department of Cummunication and Media, Lund University

Morten Michelsen, Department of Arts and Cultural studies, University of Copenhagen

Allan F. Moore, School of Arts, University of Surrey

Nick Prior, School of Social and Political Science, University of Edinburgh

Bo Reimer, School of Arts and Communication, Malmö University

Jackie Stacey, School of Arts, Languages and Cultures, University of Manchester